This Week In History

July 10, 1888

Toyohiko KagawaOn July 10, 1888, Toyohiko Kagawa (shown) was born in Kobe, Japan. Under the influence of Presbyterian missionaries — Harry W. Myers and Charles A. Logan of the Presbyterian Church (US), Kagawa became a Christian and studied at the Presbyterian College in Tokyo (1905 - 1908), theology at Kobe Theological University and then at Princeton Theological Seminary (1914 - 1917). He worked in Japanese slums as a Christian missionary and labor organizer. Kagawa also wrote about 150 works. He founded an Anti-War League in Japan during 1928. Kagawa visited the Montreat/Asheville area in 1936. He died on April 23, 1960 and the Emperor posthumously awarded him Japan's highest honor, the Order of the Sacred Treasure.

July 12, 1915

1915 petitionOn July 12, 1915, the Montreat Retreat Association voted in response to a citizens' petition to make it "unlawful for any person or persons to sell or dispose of any of the following named drinks, Coca Cola, Pepsi Cola, Cherri Cola, Ten-Cola or Christi Cola within the grounds of the Mountain Retreat Association after July 20th, 1915." The penalties were a fine of $25 to $50 for the first offense, and 10 days imprisonment for the second offense. (See petition at right) Coca-Cola and others were under attack for previous rumored use of Coca leaves. Obviously, the marketing of Coca-Cola eventually won over the residents.

July 13, 1853

Rev. KingsburyOn July 13, 1853, Presbyterian minister and missionary Cyrus Kingsbury "commenced raising the Presbyterian church in Doaksville (in what is now Oklahoma), after having united in prayer." In 1817, Rev. Kingsbury (shown) started mission work with the Cherokees, and then in 1818 began his work with the Choctaw Indians in Mississippi. When the Indians were forcibly removed to Indian Territory west of the Mississippi River, Kingsbury went with them and re-established a mission of churches and schools.

July 15, 1988

On July 15, 1988, the organization called Presbyterian Women was formally created following the 1983 merger of the Northern and Southern churches. The group combined the United Presbyterian Women (UPCUSA) and Women of the Church (PCUS).